Discovering tomorrow

Faculty of Science

Members of the Science Faculty are involved in a range of partnerships with academic institutions from various countries. These partnerships are based on research collaboration and may include staff and student exchanges, joint funding for a research activity and co-authorship of conference and journal papers.

The Faculty is proud of these linkages, which enable our staff and students to interact with leading researchers from across the world. Below is a list of foreign partners, with the contact names and a brief description for further information.

Institute of Applied Physics, Technical University of Dresden, Germany

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Reinhardt (JR) Botha (Dept of Physics)
041 504 2144 / Reinhardt.Botha@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at TU-Dresden: Prof Joerg Weber
joerg.weber@tu-dresden.de

University of Padova, Italy

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Andrew Leitch (Dept of Physics)
041 504 2219 / Andrew.Leitch@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at Padova: Prof Andrea Galtarossa
andrea.galtarossa@dei.unipd 

Federal University of Rio Grande – FURG, Brazil

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Eileen Campbell (Dept of Botany)
041 504 2329 / Eileen.Campbell@nmmu.ac.za  
Contact person at FURG: Prof Clarisse Odebrecht
doclar@furg.br

University of Mainz, Germany

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Ernst Ferg (Dept of Chemistry)
041 504 3160 / Ernst.Ferg@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at Mainz: Prof Loewe
loewe@uni-mainz.de  

Department of Wildlife, Fish and Environmental Studies, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Graham Kerley (Dept of Zoology)
041 504 24278 / Graham.Kerley@nmmu.ac.za  
Contact person at Swedish Univ. Ag Sci: Dr. Joris PGM Cromsigt
joris.cromsigt@slu.se 

Department of Chemistry, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Muenchen, Germany

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Thomas Gerber
041-504 4285 / Thomas.gerber@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at Ludwig-Maximilians University: Dr Peter Mayer
pemay@cup.uni-muenchen.de  

Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology, Linköping University, SE-581 83 Linköping, Sweden

Contact person at NMMU : Prof Japie Engelbrecht, Physics Department, NMMU
041-504-2186 / Japie.Engelbrecth@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at Linkoping University : Prof Erik Janzén
erija@ifm.liu.se 

School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, University of Washington

Contact person at NMMU: Dr Ronel Nel
041 504 2335 / Ronel.Nel@nmmu.ac.za
Contact person at University of Washington: Dr Lorenz Hauser (Associate Professor)
Dr Kerry Naish (Associate Professor)

Laboratory of Toxicology, University of Leuven (K.U. Leuven), Leuven, Belgium

Contact person at NMMU: Prof Ryno Naude (Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology)
041 504 2441/2234 / ryno.naude@nmmu.ac.za 
Contact person at K.U. Leuven: Prof Jan Tytgat
Jan.Tytgat@pharm.kuleuven.be